ICBC Class 5 Road Test Removed in BC
From October 19, 2026, eligible Class 7 Novice drivers upgrade to Class 5 through a Driving Record Assessment instead of a second road test. Here is what changes, what it costs, and who still needs to test.
Yes. From October 19, 2026, BC removes the second road test for eligible Class 7 Novice drivers. They upgrade through a Driving Record Assessment, then hold a Class 5 with a zero alcohol and drug restriction for 12 months. The first road test, for your Class 7 licence, stays.
This is the first significant update to BC's Graduated Licensing Program in more than 25 years. If you hold a Class 7 Novice licence, are learning on a Class 7L, or are moving to BC, it changes your path to a full licence. We check every fact on this page against ICBC and BC government sources and update it when ICBC publishes new details. [ICBC]
What Is Changing on October 19, 2026
On October 19, 2026, a Driving Record Assessment replaces the second road test for eligible Novice drivers. Until now, a new driver in BC passed two road tests: one for a Class 7 Novice licence and a second for a full Class 5. ICBC says drivers with a Class 7 or Class 7, 8 Novice licence and a clean driving record will no longer take that second test. [ICBC]
- The second road test from Class 7 Novice to Class 5 is removed for eligible drivers.
- A Driving Record Assessment checks your record instead of an examiner checking your driving.
- Drivers who qualify get a Class 5 with restriction 55, zero blood alcohol and drug, for 12 months.
- The first road test, for your Class 7 licence, is still required in both new pathways.
- Drivers 25 and older get a shorter pathway: 9 months as a learner and 12 months as a Novice.
- Learner supervisors can be 22 or older, and learners can carry more than one passenger if all are immediate family, as ICBC defines it.
- The age of consent to apply for a licence without a parent or guardian drops from 19 to 18. [BC Gov]
Removing the second test does not lower the standard. It moves the focus from one exam to your driving record across the Novice stage and the 12 month restricted Class 5 stage.
Why BC Is Removing the Second Road Test
BC says a clean record built over time predicts long term safety about as reliably as one road test. When the change was announced on July 20, 2026, Nina Krieger, Minister of Public Safety and Solicitor General, made that point directly. In lessons around Victoria we regularly see students who drive well for months, then struggle for 30 minutes because an examiner is in the passenger seat. [BC Gov]
BC is also catching up with other jurisdictions. The Province says nearly all graduated licensing programs worldwide have no second road test, and that Transport Canada collision statistics show three of the four Canadian provinces with the lowest motor vehicle fatality rates have no exit test. After October 19, Ontario is the only Canadian jurisdiction that still requires one. [BC Gov]
Access matters too. ICBC says removing the test reduces barriers for drivers in rural, remote and Indigenous communities, where road test appointments can be hard to reach. Grand Chief Stewart Phillip of the Union of BC Indian Chiefs welcomed the changes and linked them to the UBCIC Road to Reconciliation discussion paper. [BC Gov]
The program has not had a significant update in more than 25 years. The new 12 month restricted Class 5 stage is how BC keeps new drivers under closer watch after they upgrade.
↑ Back to contentsOld Pathway vs New Pathway
The new pathway keeps the Class 7 road test and replaces the second test with a record check. The Province's backgrounder sets out the stages for each age group below. Drivers under 25 keep the same learner and Novice lengths. Drivers 25 and older move through faster. [BC Gov]
| Stage | Old program | New, under 25 | New, 25 and older |
|---|---|---|---|
| Learner (Class 7L) | 12 months | 12 months | 9 months |
| First road test | Class 7 road test | Still required | Still required |
| Novice (Class 7) | 24 months, or 18 with an approved GLP course | 24 months, or 18 with an approved GLP course | 12 months |
| Second step | Class 5 road test | Test removed, Driving Record Assessment | Test removed, Driving Record Assessment |
| Class 5 with restriction 55 | Did not exist | 12 months | 12 months |
| Class 5 without restriction | After the second road test | After the 12 month restriction | After the 12 month restriction |
- 1LearnerClass 7L, 12 months
- 2Class 7 road testEarns Novice licence
- 3Novice24 months, or 18 with course
- 4Class 5 road testSecond road test
- 5Full Class 5No restriction
- 1LearnerClass 7L, 12 months
- 2Class 7 road testStill required
- 3Novice24 months, or 18 with a completed course
- ✕Class 5 road testRemoved
- 4Driving Record AssessmentClean record check
- 5Class 5, restriction 5512 months
- 6Class 5Without restriction
- 1LearnerClass 7L, 9 months
- 2Class 7 road testStill required
- 3Novice12 months
- ✕Class 5 road testRemoved
- 4Driving Record AssessmentClean record check
- 5Class 5, restriction 5512 months
- 6Class 5Without restriction
Both new pathways keep the Class 7 road test. Only the second test is removed.
The Novice stage for drivers under 25 is not shorter. It stays at 24 months, or 18 months if you complete an approved GLP course during the learner stage. Starting a course without finishing it keeps you at 24 months.
The Class 7 road test is now the main in car test. Build those skills with our driving lessons in Victoria BC.
Book a LessonHow the Driving Record Assessment Works
The Driving Record Assessment is a review of your driving record, not an in car exam. ICBC checks that you have driven long enough on your Novice licence with a clean record. You must meet every one of these criteria to upgrade from Class 7 to Class 5, or from Class 7, 8 to Class 5, 6. [ICBC]
At least 24 months of safe driving, or 18 months if you completed an approved GLP course during the learner stage.
At least 12 months of safe driving.
No convictions for excessive speed or electronic device use during that time.
No prohibitions or suspensions during that time.
Where to find your eligibility date
Starting October 19, 2026, your driving record lists an "Earliest Exit Date." That is the first day you can apply for the Driving Record Assessment.
Where to go
Once you meet the criteria, visit a driver licensing office by appointment or as a walk in customer. The Province says the assessment will be offered at ICBC driver licensing offices, Service BC offices and driver licensing agents. ICBC's online booking, from October 19, covers ICBC driver licensing offices only. Choose the "Driving Record Assessment" service type when you book. [BC Gov]
What it costs
| Option | Fee | What you get |
|---|---|---|
| Upgrade your current card | $17 | A Class 5 card with the same expiry date as your current licence |
| Upgrade when your licence expires within six months | $75 | A Class 5 with restrictions, valid for five years |
| Automatic upgrade, card unchanged | No visit needed | Your driving record shows Class 5; a new card is optional |
ICBC accepts cash, Visa, Mastercard, American Express, debit and personal cheques. Outstanding debt with ICBC can hold up a renewal or upgrade, so ICBC asks you to call Account Services at 604 661 2723 or 1 800 665 6442 before booking.
↑ Back to contentsWhat Happens If You Get a Prohibition or Suspension
A prohibition or suspension resets your clock, both before and after you upgrade. ICBC updates your driving record right away, and your new eligibility date is based on your age and training. [ICBC]
- Before you upgrade and 25 or older: you need another 12 months with no prohibitions, suspensions, electronic device convictions or excessive speeding tickets.
- Before you upgrade and under 25: you need another 24 months, or 18 months if you completed an approved GLP course.
- After you upgrade: the 12 month restriction 55 period restarts from the date your licence is reinstated.
- The Province says convictions for excessive speeding or electronic device use restart the Novice period. [BC Gov]
One electronic device conviction restarts your qualifying period. Put the phone out of reach before you start the car, not after.
Say it simply: keep your record clean, or the waiting period starts again.
↑ Back to contentsHow the Restricted Class 5 and Restriction 55 Work
After you upgrade, your Class 5 carries restriction 55 for 12 months. Restriction 55 means zero blood alcohol and zero blood drug content while driving. ICBC prints its expiry date on the back of your licence, and it comes off automatically with no action needed. [ICBC]
- Confirmed: restriction 55 lasts 12 months and expires automatically.
- Confirmed: a prohibition or suspension restarts the 12 months from the date your licence is reinstated.
- Confirmed: drivers under 25 still display the N sign while driving on a Class 7 licence. [ICBC]
- Confirmed: ICBC's guidance for Class 7 drivers 25 and older says that from October 19 they no longer need to display the N sign or have a supervisor to carry more than one passenger.
- Confirmed: the Province says violations during this stage face greater scrutiny than for experienced drivers. [BC Gov]
- Not yet stated: whether an ordinary ticket, without a prohibition or suspension, changes the end date.
Hashim and Sadia often tell Novice students the same thing: the freedom of Class 5 arrives before the experience does. Treat the restricted year as your final year of learning, and plan your ride home before any night out.
What Changes for Class 7L Learners
From October 19, 2026, learners can drive with younger supervisors and with more family in the car. Most other Class 7L conditions stay the same. How the changes apply depends on your age on October 19. [ICBC]
| Learner rule | Until October 18 | From October 19, 2026 |
|---|---|---|
| Supervisor age | Over 25 | 22 or older |
| Supervisor licence | Valid Class 1 to 5 | Own Class 5 without restriction 55, and legally able to drive |
| Passengers | One, plus your supervisor | More than one if every other passenger is immediate family |
| Learner stage length | 12 months | 12 months under 25, 9 months for 25 and older |
| Age of consent | 19 | 18 |
BC's Motor Vehicle Act Regulations define an immediate family member as a spouse, parent, grandparent, child, grandchild or sibling, including step and foster relationships. [BC MVA Regulations]
These learner rules do not change: the supervisor sits in the front passenger seat, you display the red L sign, you keep zero alcohol and drugs in your blood, you use no electronic devices including hands free, and you do not drive between midnight and 5 a.m.
↑ Back to contentsBook Your Class 5 Road Test or Wait?
Until October 18, eligible Novice drivers can still choose the Class 5 road test. Any second road test scheduled on or after October 19 will be cancelled, and ICBC will email you with next steps. With only weeks left, the choice is about which Class 5 you want and when. [ICBC]
Take the test before October 19
- Under the current program, passing earns a full Class 5 with no restricted stage, as the Province's backgrounder describes the old model.
- This suits drivers whose employer or insurer asks for a Class 5 without restrictions. Check their exact wording first.
- You need a test date before October 19, and passing depends on your driving on the day.
Wait for the assessment
- No second road test to book, prepare for or pay for.
- No test day pressure, which helps drivers with test anxiety.
- You still need to meet the record criteria, and you hold restriction 55 for 12 months.
- If you are already eligible, watch for ICBC's automatic upgrade letter.
Current N Drivers and the Automatic Upgrade
Some current Novice drivers may qualify for a one time automatic upgrade to Class 5 on October 19, 2026. If you qualify, ICBC sends a letter confirming it, and you do not need an in office assessment. [BC Gov]
How to stay eligible
- Keep your record clean between the date of the letter and October 19: no prohibitions, suspensions, electronic device convictions or excessive speeding.
- Update your address with ICBC if you have moved recently, so the letter reaches you.
- Renew your Class 7 if it expires before October 19, or the automatic upgrade cannot take place.
- Clear any outstanding ICBC debt, which ICBC says may affect eligibility.
Your card after the upgrade
Replacing your card is optional. Your driving record shows your current licence class. If you want a card that says Class 5, the replacement fee is $17 and keeps your current expiry date. If your upgraded licence expires in six months or less, a $75 renewal gives you a Class 5 with restrictions valid for five years.
Second road tests on or after October 19
ICBC will cancel them and email you to confirm the cancellation and your next steps. ICBC only cancels second road tests scheduled on or after October 19. ICBC has not yet stated on its public pages whether a prepaid road test fee is refunded.
Want a skills check before your restricted year? A road test evaluation shows the habits worth fixing now.
Who Still Needs to Take a Road Test
The change removes the Graduated Licensing Program exit test, not every road test in BC. Drivers moving to BC follow licence exchange rules based on age and driving experience after the learner stage. [ICBC]
Moving to BC with a licence from a reciprocal jurisdiction
| Experience after the learner stage | 25 and older | Under 25 |
|---|---|---|
| Full Class 5 | 24 months or more | 36 months or more |
| Class 5 with restrictions | 12 to 24 months | 24 to 36 months |
| Class 7N, then upgrade later | Under 12 months; upgrade after 12 months | Under 24 months; upgrade after 24 months |
- Drivers from outside ICBC's licence exchange program, or who cannot prove their experience, complete a vision screening and, depending on experience, a knowledge test and a road test.
- From October 19, a commercial learner's licence needs a Class 5 or Class 6 licence, with or without restriction 55, plus 24 months of driving after the learner stage, or 18 months with a completed approved GLP course.
- Motorcycle licensing gets separate changes through the Motorcyclist Licensing Program in 2027.
- ICBC has not said whether a previously failed Class 5 road test affects the assessment. Follow your ICBC letter or ask ICBC directly.
Your requirements depend on which licensing framework applies to you, not only on how long you have driven. Confirm your situation with ICBC before assuming the second test no longer applies.
Confirmed Rules vs Awaiting ICBC Details
Most of the new rules are now confirmed, but a few practical questions are still open. This table shows the current status, last checked against ICBC on September 28, 2026.
| Question | Current answer | Status | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Effective date | October 19, 2026 | Confirmed | ICBC, Province |
| Is the second road test removed? | Yes, for eligible Class 7 and Class 7, 8 Novice drivers | Confirmed | ICBC |
| Does the Class 7 road test remain? | Yes, in both new pathways | Confirmed | Province |
| Test booked on or after October 19? | Cancelled, with an ICBC email about next steps | Confirmed | ICBC |
| What restriction applies after upgrading? | Restriction 55, zero blood alcohol and drug, for 12 months, expiring automatically | Confirmed | ICBC |
| Do you still display the N sign? | Under 25 on a Class 7: yes. 25 and older: not needed from October 19 | Confirmed | ICBC |
| Does upgrading cost a fee? | $17 to upgrade your card, or $75 for a five year licence if yours expires within six months | Confirmed | ICBC |
| Suspension during restriction 55? | The 12 months restart from reinstatement | Confirmed | ICBC |
| Which age applies? | For current drivers, your age on October 19, 2026 | Confirmed | ICBC |
| Where is the assessment done? | Driver licensing offices; the Province also lists Service BC and agents. Online booking is for ICBC offices only. | Confirmed | ICBC, Province |
| Who counts as immediate family? | Spouse, parent, grandparent, child, grandchild, sibling, and step or foster equivalents | Confirmed | ICBC, BC MVA Regulations |
| Turning 25 partway through the program | Not fully explained for ages reached after October 19 | Awaiting details | Not specified |
| Does an ordinary speeding ticket count? | Criteria name excessive speed only | Awaiting details | Not specified |
| Does an at fault collision count? | Not listed in the criteria | Awaiting details | Not specified |
| Previously failed Class 5 road test | Effect on eligibility not stated | Awaiting details | Not specified |
| Refund for a cancelled road test | Not stated on public pages | Awaiting details | Not specified |
ICBC is the final authority on your individual situation. We update this table when ICBC publishes new details, so you can see what is settled and what is still coming.
Why Your Class 7 Road Test Matters More Now
With the second test gone, the Class 7 road test is the main in car test for most BC drivers. After it, nobody checks your driving in person again on the way to Class 5. Your record does the talking, so the habits you build as a learner carry through the Novice stage and the restricted year.
Professional lessons help you develop observation, speed control and hazard perception for the Class 7 road test on roads around Victoria, and the defensive habits that keep your record clean afterwards. At Sky Driving School Ltd., a driving school in Victoria BC, lessons take place in our Toyota Prius Prime and Hyundai Elantra, automatic dual control training vehicles used by a Division 27 licensed driving school.
Read our guide to the ICBC road test in Victoria, review the most common road test mistakes, or book road test preparation Victoria BC students use before their Class 7 test.
↑ Back to contentsClass 5 Road Test Removal FAQ
These are the questions BC drivers ask us most about the October 19, 2026 changes. Answers reflect ICBC guidance as of September 28, 2026.
Yes. From October 19, 2026, eligible Class 7 and Class 7, 8 Novice drivers upgrade through a Driving Record Assessment instead of a second road test. They then hold a Class 5 with restriction 55 for 12 months.
ICBC will cancel it and email you to confirm the cancellation and your next steps. Only second road tests scheduled on or after October 19 are cancelled.
Possibly. Drivers already eligible may get an ICBC letter confirming a one time automatic upgrade on October 19. Keep your record clean until then, and renew your Class 7 first if it expires before that date.
ICBC lists $17 to upgrade your card and keep its expiry date, or $75 for a new five year licence if yours expires within six months. With the automatic upgrade, a new card is optional.
Restriction 55 requires zero blood alcohol and zero blood drug content while driving. It applies for 12 months after you upgrade, its expiry date is on the back of your licence, and it ends automatically.
The 12 month restriction period restarts from the date your licence is reinstated. Before you upgrade, a prohibition or suspension also resets the date you become eligible.
Drivers under 25 still display the N sign while driving on a Class 7 licence. ICBC says drivers 25 and older no longer need to display it from October 19.
ICBC's criteria name convictions for excessive speed or electronic device use, plus prohibitions and suspensions. ICBC has not said whether an ordinary speeding ticket or an at fault collision affects eligibility.
Yes. From October 19, 2026, drivers 25 and older have a 9 month learner stage and a 12 month Novice stage. For drivers already in the program, ICBC uses your age on October 19.
A supervisor 22 or older who holds their own Class 5 without restriction 55 and is legally able to drive. They sit in the front passenger seat, and learners can carry extra passengers only if all are immediate family.
Your licence exchange depends on your age and driving experience after the learner stage. Drivers from outside ICBC's exchange program, or who cannot prove experience, complete vision screening and possibly knowledge and road tests.
Yes. Eligible Class 7, 8 Novice holders upgrade to Class 5, 6 through the same Driving Record Assessment criteria. Separate Motorcyclist Licensing Program changes are scheduled for 2027.
Prepare for Your Class 7 Road Test
Build the skills for your Class 7 road test and the clean record that follows. As a driving school Victoria BC families rely on, our certified driver training instructors help you build habits that carry you to Class 5.
Page Updates
- September 2026: Rechecked against ICBC on September 28. Added restriction 55, upgrade fees, Earliest Exit Date, automatic upgrade conditions, reset rules, Class 7L supervisor and passenger changes, moving to BC tiers, commercial learner rule and a 25 and older pathway. Moved items from awaiting to confirmed, confirmed the N sign rule for both age groups, and added the legal definition of immediate family.
- July 2026: Published after the ICBC announcement and BC government news release of July 20, 2026.
Sources and References
- ICBC: Changes to the Graduated Licensing Program
- ICBC: You have a Class 7 licence and you're under 25
- ICBC: You have a Class 7L licence
- ICBC: You're planning to move to B.C.
- BC Government: Supporting road safety, streamlining licensing for new drivers (July 20, 2026)
- BC Government: Legislation introduced for graduated licensing changes
- BC Motor Vehicle Act (BC Laws)
- BC Motor Vehicle Act Regulations, immediate family member definition (BC Laws)
Details on restriction 55, upgrade fees, the automatic upgrade, reset rules, moving to BC tiers and commercial licensing appear in the "How will these changes affect you?" sections of the ICBC page, which open when you select your licence type and age.
Author: Certified driving instructors at Sky Driving School Ltd. | Published: July 20, 2026 | Last updated: September 28, 2026
Sky Driving School Ltd. is a licensed driver training school under the Motor Vehicle Act (Division 27), DTC 2235, and is not affiliated with ICBC. This page summarizes official ICBC and BC government information for general guidance. Your eligibility depends on your own driving record and age, so confirm it at icbc.com.
